World Team

Scroll Down
Under 16
Beginner - Experienced

The World Team Program is an elite AFL development pathway program designed to give the participants a unique opportunity to develop their football skills and be exposed to a leadership and cultural program to encourage their personal development.  
Since commencing back in 2011 the program has grown and developed into a well known and respected talent pathway that many young Multicultural boys strive to be part of.
The program is based on the following pillars:

                Cultural Identity                Decision Making                Resilience                Communication


The World Team program is our National AFL Multicultural program. Selection into this program is through AFL State Multicultural Programs. Participants are required to participate in their state based program to be eligible for selection in the World Team.

Registrations are closed for 2019.

The AFL is pleased to announce the 2019 Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs and World Team squads set to play two exhibition matches in Melbourne next month.

Selected by NGA Managers and AFL Club recruiters, following a state talent program and talent identification camp, the respective squads of 25 young men have been chosen based on school attendance, leadership skills, and football ability.

Supported by Rio Tinto, the AFL Flying Boomerangs program is a personal development and leadership program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men aged 14-16 years old. Meanwhile the World Team is made up of the best upcoming AFL multicultural players from across the country.

The two squads will fly to Melbourne on July 7 for a week-long camp where they will undergo a number of cultural, education and football training sessions, before going head-to-head in two exhibition matches at Trevor Barker Oval on July 9 and July 12.

AFL General Manager Game Development, Andrew Dillon, said the Rio Tinto AFL Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs play an important role in the development of the next generation of AFL talent.

“The Rio Tinto AFL Flying Boomerangs and World Team programs are vital parts of the AFL talent pathway system and provides a great platform for the next wave of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and Multicultural talent to develop not only their football skills, but leadership skills which they can take back to their local communities,” Mr Dillon said.

“We’ve seen a number of elite AFL players come through these programs over the years and we look forward to witnessing the next stage of development for these players, coaches, and umpires when they arrive in Melbourne next month,” Mr Dillon said.

Rio Tinto CEO Iron Ore, Chris Salisbury said, “Rio Tinto is proud of our partnership supporting the AFL’s Indigenous programs, and our shared commitment to Indigenous people and communities right around Australia.

“The Rio Tinto Flying Boomerangs program offers a great opportunity for young Indigenous men to enter into an elite AFL pathway. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people make up 10 per cent of AFL lists and 7.5 per cent of Rio Tinto’s permanent workforce, a clear demonstration of our shared value and commitment to supporting Indigenous people and communities.”

Rio Tinto is the principal partner to all the AFL’s Indigenous Programs. Rio Tinto is one of Australia’s largest employers of Indigenous people, employing some 1500 Aboriginal and Torres Strait men and women across the nation.

See below for a list of this year's Male Diversity Selection: 
                                                                 2019 World Team Male Diversity All Stars Selection
                                                                                              Jake Rogers                      (QLD)
                                                                                              Nathan Barkla                    (SA)
                                                                                              Charbel Oueiss                   (SA)
                                                                                              Bililign Robertson            (NSW)
                                                                                              Chase Bourne                     (WA)
                                                                                              James Apted                      (VIC)
                                                                                              Jordan Nguyen                  (VIC)
                                                                                              Matthew Foley                  (VIC)
                                                                                               Ayui Makieng                   (VIC)
                                                                                             Joshua Bennetts                 (VIC)
                                                                                              Malakai Nico                     (VIC)